another SU conversion

Engine not running right? see if we can help you!
djc
Can I have a tow
Can I have a tow

another SU conversion

Post by djc » Sun Feb 01, 2015 3:57 pm

At very long last... I got the carb and manilfold about 3 months ago but just got round to doing the swap.

My own humble advice to anyone yet to do this would be: don't underestimate the volume of faffy work involved. I'll admit messing with spanners in the cold doesn't get close to fun for me, so bear that in mind if I sound a tads jaded.
It looks like this, just needs choke connecting at carb end (lost the screw thing, ordered another), and coolant top-up, route the fuel overflow pipe, fix choke firmly into dash...
sj3.jpg
sj3.jpg (60.84 KiB) Viewed 7774 times
sj2.jpg
sj2.jpg (57.27 KiB) Viewed 7774 times
Here's a bit of what I found out along the way. I've never done this before so had to work a few things out. I did get to see Chan's conversion which helped a lot.
If I was doing this again, I would very definitely do loads of the prep work before even starting - making up a longer throttle cable (about 10" longer); fabricating (or getting) a suitable air inlet to fit the SU; any fabricating for the air inlet side:
sj1.jpg
sj1.jpg (43.09 KiB) Viewed 7774 times
[I know this isn't muckproof, it'll do for me].
There's a list of bits you need to hand I think, and it's worth having everything ready: 6mm (and maybe 8mm) hose, clips various sizes, air hose, throttle cable bits, inline fuel filter, breather filter, air filter, coolant, gasket material, and more I've probably forgotten.
Basically I'd say the more you can do before taking the old carb off the better, and a lot of the ancilliary stuff can be done in advance I think.